I imagine your to-do list of digital tools to check out is about as long as mine, which means it goes into that ever-shifting pile of I’ll get to it “someday.” Guess what? Today is someday. That’s right — thanks to an AASL list of Best Websites workshop by Heather Moorefield-Lang that I recently attended, I am sharing three digital tools that you can actually use today. Right now. So, here ya go…

RECITE.COM: CREATE SNAPPY MEMES FOR PRESENTATIONS & SOCIAL MEDIA

Literally 10 seconds. That’s all it takes to create an image with recite.com. Pick a quote, pick a background and you’re ready to download or post. Seriously, it probably will take you longer to figure out the quote than it will to create the meme.

POWTOON: MAKE YOUR OWN VIDEO OR SLIDESHOW IN MINUTES

With Powtoon, you can slap together a presentation in minutes using templates or you can jazz it up with your own style. You can add voiceovers, images, animated graphs and more. You can change the timing of the animations. You can change the music. Or you can just pick the templates, throw in some text and call it a day. The free version is limited but very usable. Here’s a PowYoon that I created in about 15 minutes. And it was the first time I used PowToon so that included the learning curve. Granted, it’s not the greatest video but … 15 minutes! You could learn it during lunch.

https://www.powtoon.com/c/bkojB1Y9gJp/1/m

PADLET:  CREATE A QUICK LIST OF RESOURCES FOR STUDENTS

Padlet is so easy, you’ll wonder why you’ve ignored it for so long. It’s the perfect online bulletin board. Just double-click to add text, links and videos. Drag and drop to add images. Share the link and you’re done. You have a small choice of themes and layouts, enough to mix it up but not so many that it becomes complicated.

I use Padlet for lots of different lists that I know I’ll want to change up now and then. Here’s one I did for NEW BOOKS in the B.E. Library. I made it in a few minutes (minus the time to write the summaries) and will be able to update it quickly, simply by dragging in a new image and adding a short summary.

Made with Padlet
 So there, you have it. Three web tools you can use today. Enjoy!
